Gerda Awake!

The Wanderer:

“Waken, Wala! Wala! Awake!

From lasting sleep, rise and appear at my call.

I call you again: Arise! Arise!

From earth’s hidden caves,

emprisoned in darkness, arise!

Gerda! Gerda! Woman all-wise!

From silence and darkness rise to the world,

With spells I rouse you; rise up and answer.

Your slumbering wisdom I would awake.

All-knowing one! Waken, awaken, O wala! Awaken!”

 

Gerda:

“Strong is your call; mighty spells have roused me.

From wisdom’s dreams, I rise at your call.

Who has shaken me from my slumber?”

 

The Wanderer:

“The Wanderer wakes you; I need your wisdom;

my spells have called you, from caverns of the deep,

on earth I have wandered, far have I roamed;

I searched for wisdom, strove by day and night in search,

No one on earth is wiser than you; you know that which is hid,

In the caves of the night, what hill and valley, air and water hold,

Where life is found, Gerda is.

Where brooding minds behold, you enfold them.

All things, All things,

seeking wisdom and council, I have waken you from slumber.”

 

Gerda:

“My sleep is dreaming; my dreaming brooding.

My brooding brings all my wisdom.

But while I sleep, the Norns are waking, and winding their cord,

And weaving al that I know:

The Norns can give you answer.”

 

The Wanderer:

“They weave for the world, spin what you tell them

but cannot change nought with their weaving,

You are wiser; you can give me council,

if the swift-turning wheel can be stopped.”

 

Gerda:

“Deeds of men have beclouded my thoughts;

my wisdom itself once felt a conqueror’s force.

A brave daughter I bore to Wotan; at his command

She chose heroes for Walhall.

She is valiant and wise as well:

So why wake me? You will learn the answer

From Erda’s and Wotan’s child.”

 

 

 


One response to “Gerda Awake!

  • aufihrhelden

    Below is a video from a production of Siegfried (The Third Act) which the above comes from. Also, see the rest of this production of Der Ring des Nibelungen on the same you-tube channel. It is rich and powerful, as His works should be.

    See the photograph of The Bayreuth Festspielhaus (designed by Him) on the video and then look at the picture of the Heidelberg ‘Thing’ Site from the essay written on this website (July 2011).

Leave a Reply

